Prime Ministers of India List From 1947 to 2024

Sarkar Yojana Team
4 Min Read

Prime Ministers of India List – The Prime Minister of India is the head of the entire country and government. After winning the general election by any political party, a candidate is nominated for the post of Prime Minister, after which the leader of that political party is appointed as the Prime Minister of India and sworn in.

All the Prime Ministers form the cabinet to run the country and give the status of Cabinet Minister to some people so that work can be done in all the departments. The PM acts as a link between the President and the cabinet while discharging his duties.

For your information, let us tell you that Jawaharlal Nehru was the first Prime Minister of India, who served as the Prime Minister of India from 15 August 1947 to 26 January 1950.

Prime Minister of India List From 1947 to 2024 | PM of India List in Hindi | Indian Pradhan Mantri List | Prime Minister List PDF | List of Prime Minister of India and their Achievements | Prime Ministers Of India List with Photo

Prime Ministers of India

List of Prime Ministers of India is one of the most important topics regarding for General Knowledge in UPSC and many other competitive exams. Every year the question from this definitely comes in the exams. In this way, it is very important for the students preparing for government jobs to know about it.

List of Prime Ministers of India

Check the List of Prime Ministers of India from 1947 to 2024 in the table below.

S.NoPrime MinisterPeriod
1Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru15th Aug 1947- 27th May 1964
2Gulzarilal Nanda (interim)27th May 1964- 9th Jun 1964
3Lal Bahadur Shastri9th June 1964 -11th January 1966
4Gulzarilal Nanda11th January 1966- 24th January 1966
5Indira Gandhi24th January 1966- 24th March 1977
6Morarji Desai24th March 1977- 28th July 1979
7Charan Singh28th July 1979- 14th January 1980
8Indira Gandhi14th January 1980- 31st October 1984
9Rajiv Gandhi31st October 1984- 2nd December 1989
10Vishwa Pratap Singh2nd December 1989- 10th November 1990
11Chandra Shekhar10th November 1990-21st June 1991
12P. V Narasimha Rao21st June 1991- 16th May 1996
13Atal Bihari Vajpayee16th May 1996-1st June 1996
14H. D Deve Gowda1st June 1996- 21st April 1997
15Inder Kumar Gujral21st April 1997- 18th March 1998
16Atal Bihari Vajpayee18th March 1998- 22nd May 2004
17Dr Manmohan Singh22nd May 2004 -17th May 2014
18Narendra Modi26th May 2014 -23rd May 2019
19Narendra Modi30th May 2019 -Incumbent

Download Pradhan Mantri List in Hindi from below link –

FAQ – Prime Minister of India List

Who is the fcurrent Prime Minister of India?

Narendra Modi is the current PM of India

Who was the first woman prime minister?

Iron Lady Indira Gandhi was the first and the only female Prime Minister of India.

In today’s article, we have shared the Prime Minister of India List with you, hope you like this post. If you have any question related to this, then definitely tell by commenting.

To get information about similar posts, follow our Facebook page and do not forget to bookmark our sarkari yojana site.

Share This Article
Leave a comment